Multicultural  LGBT Literary Foundation

preserve, promote, and teach works by lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender artists of color.


Bridges Writer’s Award

The Multicultural LGBT Literary Foundation’s Bridges Writer’s Award is an annual prize given to an LGBT fiction writer of color, with an attached prize of $3,500. Given to a woman in even numbered years and a man in odd numbered years, the awardee can use the funds for finishing a manuscript, advertising or travel expenses to promote their book, writer’s retreat fees, conferences, or necessary equipment. As of 2016, the Multicultural LGBT Literary Foundation offers one award each year due to funding restrictions. In the near future however, it is our hope, with increased funding, that we will be able to offer two Bridge’s Writer’s Awards per year. To help us achieve that goal, please donate here.

Qualifications for writer’s submissions are listed below, with Bridges Writer’s Award-winner’s announced each August.

  • You must identify as a lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, or genderqueer person.
  • You must identify as a person of color.
  • Your submission must be fiction.
  • Your project must feature a prominent LGBT character who is of color.
  • Winners must provide a publishing plan.


Watch the 5 minute teaser of "The Same Difference" 

Produced and Directed by 

Nneka Onuorah

Mission & Vision

- Our mission is to promote and preserve works by lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender authors and artists of color and their allies.

- Our vision is to nurture the arts, racial justice, and literacy within LGBT culture.